Vanessa Whorrall, BSN, RN - Elementary School
Heather Wilcox, BSN, RN- High School
Please keep your child home if they experience any symptoms of Covid 19!
- Fever 100.0 or greater, chills
- Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
- Muscle or body aches
- New loss of taste or smell
- Sore throat
- Congestion or runny nose
- Nausea or vomiting
This is an important reminder to parents that no child should be bringing medicine to school. If you have a child that requires medication during school hours an adult must:
- bring the medication into the school health offices
- medicine must be in its original container
- if it is new and not a refill, we require that you bring in a written permission slip from your doctor with directions
- parents must also sign a permission slip
In order to start kindergarten your child must meet the minimum (your child may have more than the minimum) requirements for school entrance:
* Three doses of DPT
* Three doses of IPV
* Two doses of MMR (2 doses of measles, 1 dose mumps, rubella)
* Three doses of Hepatitis B
* One dose of Varicella (chickenpox) vaccine or doctor documented (date & signature) proof of disease. All children born on or after January 1, 2000. (two doses may be mandated for 08-09 year)
* Students born on or after January 1, 1994, and who enroll in the 6th grade at the beginning of the 2005-06 school year must be immunized against varicella.
* Students enrolled in the 7th grade on or after September 1, 2000, must be vaccinated with the Hepatitis B vaccine.
* All children born on or after January 1, 2005, must be immunized against pertussis (commonly known as whooping cough) and tetanus as requirements for school entry and attendance.
September 1, 2007 students who are entering 6th grade or who are 11 years old or older must receive a Tdap immunization UNLESS they have received it within the last two years. They would have the immunization deferred until a period of two years has elapsed. Students entering 6th grade and may be 10 years old will not be required until the age of 11.
New York State Education Law requires a physical exam of children when they:
* Enter a school district for the first time (including all pre-kindergarten or kindergarten students)
* Are in grades 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, and 11
* Participate in interscholastic sports (required yearly)
* Need working papers
* Are referred by/to the Committee of Special Education
* Are deemed necessary by school authorities to determine a child's education program.
New York State Education Law requires that any student who needs to take medication during the school day provide:
* A written order from the physician for prescription and non-prescription medications
* Medication in a properly labeled (pharmacy or original) container
* A written request from the parent for administration of the medication.
New York State Education Law requires:
* Hearing screening to be performed for students in grades PK or K, 1, 3, 5, 7, 11.
* Vision screening to be performed for students in grades PK or K, 1, 3, 5, 7, 11.
* Scoliosis screening must be performed for girls in grades 5 and 7, and boys in grade 9.
Please do not send a sick or injured child to school with the intention that they will be diagnosed and treated by the nurse. The school nurse is not a medical diagnostician.
Any child displaying the symptoms of fever, vomiting, diarrhea, undiagnosed rashes, sore throat, ear pain, productive cough or wheezing, drainage from wounds, redness or drainage from eyes or active head lice should not come to school until seen, diagnosed and treated by their personal physician.